The largest Civic Type R club forum

Established in 2002 it brings together people from all over the world to discuss their one love of Type R's.

The nerds hangout. Anything technology related. TV's, phones, PC's, consoles this is the place!!
Right, it seems there are a lot of people on here who have an interest in this.
This will use the Plex Media Server supported by many Smart TV's, PS3, Xbox, phones etc. This tutorial is done entirely from memory, so if I've made a mistake or missed something out, let me know.
What you need
A Server
You're going to need some sort of device which will act as the Plex Server. For this tutorial I'm going to suggest the HP ProLiant Microserver. These are always on some sort of cashback offer so just wait until the time comes around.
  1. HP ProLiant Microserver
Note: Several members on here use NAS boxes such as Synology. I've got no experience with these, however for Synology, I believe there are packages available for the software I will cover for downloading. Alternatively you can use an existing computer or put one together yourself

A Plex compatible client
There are plenty of Plex compatible clients out there now, some TV's even come with a Plex app. Just to name a few:
  1. Google Chromecast
    Amazon Fire TV
    PS4
    Xbox One
smartie wrote:Any of the main players will do, not apple TV though as they are a pain.

Software
You're going to need to following software. Not all of this is needed so just picked and choose what you want.
  1. Sickbeard - This is only needed if you want something to manage your TV Show 'Subscriptions'. It works with SABnzb to download TV Shows
    SABnzb - This is only needed if you're using it in conjunction with Sickbeard
    Plex Media Server
Setting up the server
At this point I'm going to assume you already have a computer connected to the network (preferably via ethernet) and an operating system installed. You can skip the rest.

Your Server